He Sought for a Man

And I sought for a man among them, that should make up the hedge, and stand in the gap before me for the land, that I should not destroy it: but I found none.  Therefore have I poured out mine indignation upon them; I have consumed them with the fire of my wrath: their own way have I recompensed upon their heads, saith the Lord GOD.

Ezekiel 22:30-31

To me, this is one of the saddest passages in the Bible.  Many sermons have been preached on verse 30, but I don’t know that I’ve heard one preached on verse 31.  Verse 30 is a classic verse dealing with the fact that the Lord is looking for someone to do Him will.  Numbers chapter 16 tells us the story of the children of Israel provoking the Lord.  He sent a plague and Moses sent Aaron to stand before the Lord for the people.  “And he stood between the dead and the living; and the plague was stayed.”  That is what the Lord wants.

The sad part comes at the end of verse 30: “but I found none.”  The Lord didn’t want to destroy the land.  So He looked for someone to stand in the gap for the land.  But He found none.

Verse 31 then goes on to tell us that “…I poured out mine indignation upon them; I have consumed them with the fire of my wrath…”  The Lord was forced to destroy the land because He could not find a man who cared enough to intercede for the land.  To make an application to our situation, how often have we “stood in the gap?”  How often have stood before the Lord for our land?  There is much sin and rebellion in our land today.  We need to pray for our country.  We need to stand in the gap.  If the Lord looked for a man (or woman) today, would He find one if He looked in your direction?

4 responses to this post.

  1. This made me cry, but that’s okay. I need convicted to stand in the gap and pray. I’m not sure what I do with my day, but I pray to pray more and more and more. God bless you, Ben, as you lead on in Him.

    Reply

  2. Thanks Ben

    You ask quite a convicting question … Praying He will be pleased with what He sees when He looks my way. I would hate to know that He ‘poured out (His) indignation ‘ because I wasn’t where I needed to be:-(

    May we be willing to live our lives in service to Him.

    Blessings,
    ann

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

